“…I found a free dial-up service I am using tonight. I’m getting 50k via my $1 laptop. This must be how the Cubans feel when they get those ancient American cars up and running…” ~ me

The Summer of 2013 represents a turning point for all things internet. You have the Snowden affair going down, you have the blog-for-money crowd crying over their keyboards because Penguin or Panda or PR has dwindled. Traffic is down. You have some of the US Constitutional freedoms facing challenges as the fabric of the populace morphs and “the new minority” has been declared.

Friends, remember this. If you are “online” then be online for knowledge giving, knowledge receiving, knowledge sharing. Keep the experience in “basic” territory. Stay off the cloud. Don’t go socio-psycho.

I put some sound editing programs on this old laptop tonight. They are not unlike Adobe Audition or Audacity, but they differ in that they have VERY small footprints (take up little space on the harddrive) but are just as effective. I’m back in the old days of the net when most people did an awful lot OFFLINE, leaving nothing to invading hackers. Things are just a little bit safer and a lot more under my direct control.

Oh yes – QUALITY CONTENT is still the one and only king. And knowing what people are looking for when they type terms into searchbars.

[Altamont; June 25, 2013]

