Starting out in life and building a career is easier for some of us, but not so much for others. Years ago my best friend’s brother had his heart set on becoming a trucker – driving those ‘big rigs’ cross-country. He went to a special school to learn how to drive the behemoths. But he couldn’t get work. I asked him why and he said “because every place I apply, they want someone with a minimum one year experience.” That was the last time I saw him, he even had a belt on that had a little tractor-trailer buckle on it. I don’t know if his dream ever came true or not. One of my favorite twitterers, Roslynn Cobarrubias, has a great presentation relating to starting out. Although her piece is directed toward the music industry, the parallel lines run deep and you can apply the thoughtstream here to any career choice. The most important thing: never give up, and don’t listen when people tell you you CAN’T do something. You can do it! Thanks Ros, for this article. I hope it helps others who are coming up!

ROSLYNN ALBA COBARRUBIAS

photo 2
Had a blast returning to Cal State Fullerton to join fellow Walnut High School alum (Class of 2012) Christianne Holly Santiago on her Wednesday morning radio show called, “Your Morning Poison.” Walking thru campus down under the library where Titan Internet Radio still operates several years later with old rugs STILL on the wall gave me a sense of familiarity and comfortability before the interview. It was a humbling experience to return back to the place where working in the music industry was a developing dream after years as a working professional and now business owner. Holly and I discussed topics that came directly from CSUF students about the value of internships, how to network properly and developing your personal brand. I hope that anyone listens to it HERE or reads the interview below is inspired in whatever field they are in to continue to stay focused on…

View original post 3,679 more words

